J.T. Barbarese
Professor
Ph.D.: Temple University
Creative Writing, English and American Romantic and Modernist Literature

Office: 421 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6556
Email: barbarese@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://jtbarbarese.rutgers.edu/

Holly BlackfordHolly Blackford
Professor
Ph.D: California (Berkeley)
American Literature, Children’s and Young Adult Literature

Office: 426 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6310
Email: blackfor@camden.rutgers.edu

Jim BrownJames Brown
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.: University of Texas at Austin
Director of the Digital Studies Center

Office: Fine Arts Building, Room 213
Phone: (856) 225-6871
Email: jim.brown@rutgers.edu

jill capuzzoJill Capuzzo
Instructor
M.S. in Journalism, Columbia University

Office: 423 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6532
Email: capuzzo@camden.rutgers.edu

Richard EpsteinRichard Epstein
Associate Professor
Ph.D.: California at San Diego
Linguistics
Director of Undergraduate Liberal Studies Program

Office: 419 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6117
Email: repstein@camden.rutgers.edu

Shanyn FiskeShanyn Fiske
Associate Professor
Ph.D.: Pennsylvania
Victorian and Modernist British Literature
Director of Classical Studies Minor

Office: 422 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-2937
Email: fiske@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://fiske.camden.rutgers.edu/

Christopher FitterChristopher Fitter
Professor
Ph.D.: Oxford
Shakespearean drama, English Renaissance literature, early modern social history and popular politics

Office: 482 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6554
Email: fitter@camden.rutgers.edu

William FitzGeraldBill FitzGerald
Associate Professor
Director, Teaching Matters and Assessment Center
Writing Program Director
Ph.D.: Maryland
Rhetoric and Writing Studies

Office: 420 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-2925
Email: wfitz@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://crab.rutgers.edu/~wfitz/index.html

Keith GreenKeith Green
Associate Professor
Ph.D.: Michigan
African American literature, Nineteenth-Century American Literature, Autobiography

Office: 476 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6601
Email: keigreen@camden.rutgers.edu

Lauren GrodsteinLauren Grodstein
Associate Professor
MFA: Columbia
Creative Writing, Fiction and Non-Fiction, Modern Drama

Office: 483 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-2934
Email: lgrodste@camden.rutgers.edu

M.A. “Rafey” HabibM.A. Rafey Habib
Professor
D. Phil.: Oxford
Literary Theory and Criticism, Islamic Studies

Office: 425 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6558
Email: mhabib@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://habib.camden.rutgers.edu/

Tyler HoffmanTyler Hoffman
Professor
Ph.D.: Virginia
American Literature and Culture, Poetry and Poetics
Director, Civic Scholars Program
Associate Director of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Center for the Humanities
Co-Director of the Walt Whitman Program in American Studies

Office: 416 Armitage Hall
Phone: (856) 225-6925
Email: thoffman@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://hoffman.camden.rutgers.edu/

Aaron Hostetter,Aaron Hostetter Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Princeton
Old and Middle English Literature, Food and Cooking in Literature, Marxism and Cultural Materialism
477 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-2887
aaron.hostetter@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://hostetter.rutgers.edu

Ellen Malenas Ledoux, Associate ProfessorEllen Malenas Ledoux
Director of Graduate Program in English
Director, Women’s and Gender Studies Program
Ph.D. Virginia
The Romantic Era and Gothic literature
421 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-2997
eledoux@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://ledoux.rutgers.edu/

Paul Lisicky
Assistant Professor
Editor, Story QuarterlyPaul Lisicky
474 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-2927
paul.lisicky@rutgers.edu
Web: http://www.paullisicky.net/

Howard Marchitello
Professor
Howard MarchitelloAssociate Dean of The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and Research
Ph.D. SUNY Buffalo
Early Modern Literature and Culture, Science Studies, Shakespeare, Critical Theory
480 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-6110
marchitello@camden.rutgers.edu

Timothy Martin
Associate Professor
Director of the Honors CollegeTimothy Martin
Ph.D. Pennsylvania
Modern British Literature, Irish Literature, James Joyce
Chair, Learning Abroad Academic Advisory Committee
Director of the Honors College
319 Cooper St, 2nd floor; (856) 225-6671
timartin@camden.rutgers.edu

Patrick Rosal, Associate ProfessorPatrick Rosal
MFA, Sarah Lawrence College
Creative Writing-Poetry, Twentieth Century American Poetry, Poetry in Performance
425 Armitage Hall; 856.225.2807
patrick.rosal@rutgers.edu

Jillian Sayre, Assistant ProfessorJillain Sayre
Ph.D Texas (Austin)
Early American Literature, Literary Theory and Criticism, Hemispheric Studies
483 Armitage Hall
jillian.sayre@rutgers.edu

Geoffrey Sill, ProfessorGeoffrey Sill
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
18th Century English Literature, Drama and the Novel
478 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-2990
sill@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://sill.camden.rutgers.edu/

Carol J. Singley, ProfessorCarol
Ph.D. Brown
19th and 20th Century American Literature and Culture, Childhood Studies, Narrative, Feminist Criticism, Composition
479 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-6629
singley@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: http://singley.camden.rutgers.edu/

Lisa Zeidner, Professor and ChairLisa Zeidner
M.A. Johns Hopkins
Creative Writing, Contemporary Fiction and Poetry, Film and Screenwriting
417 Armitage Hall; (856) 225-6490
zeidner@camden.rutgers.edu
Web: www.lisazeidner.com

Faculty Emeriti of the English Department

  • Marie Cornelia, M.A., Ph.D., Fordham
  • Eddy Dow, M.A., Iowa; Ph.D., Pennsylvania
  • Walter K. Gordon, M.A., Ph.D., Pennsylvania
  • William D. Lutz, M.A., Marquette; Ph.D., Nevada (Reno); J.D., Rutgers University
  • Diane McColley, Ph.D., Illinois
  • Donald Mull, M.A., Ph.D., Yale
  • Robert M. Ryan, A.B., A.M., Ph.D., Columbia
  • James L. Sanderson, A.M., Michigan; Ph.D., Pennsylvania

Dee JonczakDee Jonczak, Secretary
424 Armitage
(856) 225-6121
deedalee@camden.rutgers.edu